Girls Travel & Windlight Meme

Emily and I went exploring!

I was frustrated about a SL technical issue yesterday while I was trying to furnish another build…GAAAH! So it was a welcome distraction when Emily hit me up and ask if I was game for exploring. Well, I wasn’t progressing with my decorating (grrr SL!) and I couldn’t get into The Arcade yet (ggrrrr everyone else that did!) so I checked out some destinations from the ExploreSL Flickr group and decided on Small Town Green.

It was hard to choose just one, because I wanted to explore every single destination we have on ExploreSL. But we were short on time. >_<

So I hopped on my Sonoma Bicycle ({what next}) and neko Emily hopped on her…broomstick…

Me on a Bike, Em on a...Broomstick

But of course!

Our Small Town Green travel album is perfect for this meme. 😀

Where to go?
++TP to Small Town Green!++

WL for this set: Annyka’s Soft Lavender Day

Strawberry Singh’s Windlight Settings Challenge

Meme instructions:

Answer the following questions about windlight settings and share some that you’ve created yourself. Don’t forget to leave a link to your post in this meme’s comments.

Do you use windlight while taking pictures? If not, why not? I depend on it; all my pics are inworld pics because I 1) don’t have the time to Photoshop and 2) I…er…don’t really know how to Photoshop…(don’t judge me! I’ll learn eventually…just not now).

When taking a closeup snapshot for a profile picture, which windlight preset do you use most often?  I don’t often do closeup myself. All my headshots are part of a larger picture so it would be weird if I change WL for just that part. But if I have to, I stick to Nam’s Optimal Skin and Prim. Sometimes, Strawberry Singh’s Closeup…which I found out that she herself is not a big fan of now. WHAAA…?! 

//elephante poses// Delicate #5

Which windlight presets do you use for full body portraits? I…I don’t. >_< Same answer as above…even full bodied ones are part of a larger picture or story. so I keep to the same WL.

I love flowers. I picked a bunch of these along the way. 😛

If you do landscape photography, which windlights do you use for that most often? I always check the default setting first, because that’s what the builder wants you to see and I think I should at least take the time to appreciate it. And after roaming around, I usually have a good idea of how I want to portray the destination…so I guess it depends on the ‘mood’ I’m in when exploring and the landscaping of the place I visit. 😀 When we landed in Small Town Green, we saw autumn-like trees…so I knew I had to use Annyka’s.

smalltowngreen_hobbitses2

Do you have any tricks or tips that you could share for using Windlight effectively? I’m on Firestorm viewer and we have this very nifty WL toggle pre-loaded with presets. I just experiment with all the sliders  until I find one that hits the spot. I don’t have tricks or tips…except for “time”. I’ve played around with WL so much that I know what I prefer and how to best use it. A lot of my interior pictures are done on my own land so I know what settings work best and where to best rezz my prefab sets to get the best shadowing for each presets.  So the tip is “take some time and experiment”, I guess?

Have you created any windlights that you would be willing to share with us? I don’t have a clue how to! I just use the premade ones and play with sliders. Does that makes me a lazy snapper? Yes? Well then…uh…khtxbai.

Well there you go, folks, my not so impressive secret on my photo skillz. 😄 So, while Em and I continue on with our girl chat, how about you visit Small Town Green, and then take part in the meme too?

Laughing at Em’s childhood ambition to be a bunny!

And remember, if you’re in need of a place to explore, we have some amazing destinations in the ExploreSL Group in Flickr.

Come see all the beautiful destination snapshots…and join the group and add yours too! 😀

Happy exploring! ❤

//Gimme the Credit, Meredith!//

(I don’t know any Meredith)

DressAnette – Trends by Tiss (80% off @ Fair Mesh!)

Shoes: Lauren D’orsay Flora/Satin – GOS Boutique

Bicycle: Sonoma Bicycle (Cherry){what next}

HairSierra – TRUTH 

SkinLana –Belleza 

LipstickRhea Lipstick #2 – Ricielli 

HandsCasual Hands – Slink 

Expression: Emoter HUD (free in MP, just do a search. 🙂 )

Destination: Small Town Green

6 thoughts on “Girls Travel & Windlight Meme

Penny for your thoughts?

