Family

“When your mother asks, “Do you want a piece of advice?” it’s a mere formality. It doesn’t matter if you answer yes or no. You’re going to get it anyway.” 
― Erma Bombeck
MishMish Clay FamilyClay Family – MishMish (change characters with HUD)

I chuckled at that quote. Isn’t it true, though? My mother’s way is by saying, “if you want my opinion”. I usually don’t but good luck trying to interject her before she blurts out her opinion anyway. LOL

This joyful season is not always joyful for everyone. Some will no doubt dread the prospect of spending time with extended families. I mean, we’ve lived in peace 11 months of the year, able to love each other from afar…nay, able to love each other PRECISELY because we are far, so December can be horrifying to some, right?

If you find yourself in this position, take a deep breath and relax, and remind yourself that it is only for a few weeks in a year. If it gets out of hand, step away and slice the ham. If it get so very nasty, grab a knife and poke the turkey. Channel your anger and frustration into that food and have yourself a gluttony, feasty Christmas. 🙂

And families doesn’t only mean those to whom we are blood-bound:

Families, families, all kinds of families, 
Families are people and animals, too
But all sort of other things fit into families
Look all around and you’ll see that they do! 

This is a poem from a children’s book called ‘All Kinds of Families‘ by Children’s Poet Laureate, Mary Ann Hoberman. This is her reading from the book and if you’re looking for a present for your little nieces and nephews, I think this would be a charming one. I bought several copies for the little ones in my family and the illustrations are so cute, I can’t even read it without feeling like I should hop to the rhyme. 🙂

I’ll post the full version of this decor when SL decides to treat me better. Right now, SL and I are not agreeing with each other and I’m seriously considering staying in this relationship. I believe SL is jealous of my pixel-glamness and so decided to sabotage me, like so. I have looked like this for an hour now, and I have not detached anything off my avi at all.

So until SL and I can work on our dysfunctional relationship, I shall bid you adieu. Til next time! xo

12 thoughts on “Family

  1. […] Like I mentioned in this post…some of us are not looking upon Christmas so joyfully, with the thoughts of family members converging for the week. LOL. Is anyone bracing for the ‘family storm’, especially when we are full of piss and bad manners? Well, like the quote on the decal, ‘Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain’. […]

Penny for your thoughts?

