400 Days, 20 Questions

20 Questions for 400th Days
*Post-processed*
Structure: Olisipo Skybox – Kuro
✤Eva multi-function chair with a cushion (texture change) – ARIA @ The Garden || ✤Kira Floorlamp (texture change) – Kuro || Magon Art Collection – Pilot || ✤Eva Sideboard (texture change)- ARIA  @ The Garden || Books – Apple Fall || ✤Decorative Plates – Kuro || ✤Eva Plumeria in a vase (texture change) – ARIA @ The Garden || Vino Lover – Lark || Firewood Stack – A.D.D.Andel! || Ruffled Rug (past gacha) – Apple Fall || blanket storage crate – floorplan

 

Time flies. Tomorrow will be my 400th day in SL. \(^o^)/

I would have waited til tomorrow if it wasn’t for the fact that tomorrow is going to be a rolling restart day. So you will forgive me if I do this a day earlier. Instead of me rambling without directions, I’m going to use Berry’s meme to tell you things about me that you are not remotely interested in, but hell imma tell you anyway.😀

So grab a blanket from the crate and gather round, kids!

Berry’s 20 Personal SL Questions

Meme instructions: Answer the following 20 personal questions about your Second Life. Don’t forget to share a link to your post in the comments!

When and how did you discover Second Life?– 399 days ago, I was a few months into my year-long leave from work and had just read ‘To Hie from Far Cilenia’ …and remembered there is a virtual world that is like it. 399 days later and here you are, stuck with me.

I am so sorry.

Did you know about virtual worlds before or was this your first experience with them? – I knew about WoW and had a vague idea about Sims. I also knew about SL long before I joined. I just wasn’t interested enough to explore it. SL is my first real experience with the metaverse.

Has Second Life met your expectations? – Exceeded. I had zero expectations. I wasn’t even here to decorate but once I knew I could, that was the end of me. It took me less than a week to rent and started decorating.

If you could teleport back to the first ten minutes of your avatar’s slife, what would you tell yourself? – Choose a better name. My SL name was a fluke and I changed my display name as soon as I knew how to. My name is  a source of confusion: an Asian living in Koalaland with a Middle Eastern SL name. OK.

How long did it take you to master avatar flying and driving vehicles inworld? – Flying was easy, I learnt it first day. Driving vehicles…weelllllll. My Man, upon witnessing me trying to maneuver a scooter: “You drive in SL better than you drive in RL.”😀

Do you have a mystery alt? – My close friends know my alts. They probably remember my alts’ name more than I do…

Is your SL avatar a reflection of you, or someone you wished you could be? – My RL self showers twice a day on weekdays and three times a day on weekends. She also have this habit of changing clothes often. My pixel hygiene is questionable, still wearing the same outfit I wore sailing last weekend. I also don’t tend to go shopping for furniture invisible in RL.

My SL self is milder and calmer than my RL self, since all I do in SL is indulge in my love for home and garden. I’m talkative in RL but in SL, I don’t really like chatting to people other than my close friends in SL; I’d rather be decorating.

Is there an individual you met in SL that inspired you in your RL? How? – I feel like I should have an answer to this question, but everyone I have had the fortune to meet in SL have taught me something, be it good or bad.

Do you feel it is easier to create stronger bonds/relationships with people you meet inworld as opposed to the real world? – It’s only easier inworld because I choose the people I surround myself with and just ignore those I find brings negativity. This doesn’t work that well in RL since there is no effective way to mute and block RL people, haha. I’m not a shy person in RL, so the ease of just interacting with people in general is about the same.

Did you ever imagine or believe people could fall in love with someone they never met before Second Life? – I didn’t believe it at first. I’m still ambivalent about it now. People say it has been happening throughout the ages through different medium (dating sites, penpalling) but the thing is (to me anyway), the first contact you make with another avatar in SL is neither their words nor personalities. It’s their appearance inworld. That alone clouds judgement: you see a beautiful/handsome avi and that is what you base your judgement on…and there are no ugly avatars in Second Life.

I know it works for some people though, so I’m happy for them.😀

How has your perspective of dating changed (or not) since you started playing second life? – I’m happily taken and I don’t date in SL, so there has been no changes in perspective. Though I would like to marry my prefabs. And furniture. Yes.

How has your perspective of employment changed (or not) since you started playing second life? – It hasn’t.

Name three things in both your lives that overlap each other significantly. – My insane love for home decor. My talkativeness once you start me talking. Er…I can’t find a third one. I lead a very boring and singular SLife (decorating errdday!)

If you could live your life more immersively in a virtual world, would you? (Kind of like the Matrix) – I have no idea what this means, tbh. I haven’t seen the Matrix. But I heard that it is loosely based on my favourite book (William Gibson’s Neuromancer) so I shall based my answer on the book: and it is a NO.

How do you think behavior changes for people if they’re inworld vs in real world? Why do you think that is? –Keyboard warriors are cute.

How has second life consumerism changed your perception of spending habits, the value of money, the need to be “bleeding edge” with fashion? – I’m not a fashion blogger so I don’t need to be bleeding edge. My home and garden hobby is a very expensive hobby in RL. Being in SL saved me heaps of money, I do wish sometimes that I joined sooner. That would probably stop me owning roughly 32 bedsheet sets, possibly more number of bathmats, and the drawers of candles. Yes. I have a problem.

SL is good therapy. I spend less than 1/10th of what I used to spend on my hobby in RL!

Do you think virtual worlds like SL drive and redefine human interaction or do they narrow and limit it? – Human interaction largely depends on individual, not the medium. However, I would say that one of the things I like in SL is the ability for it to be used to drive and redefine interaction. I shall point you to this –> Virtual Ability Inc. Second Life is a platform. If we want to revolutionize human interaction, it starts with US making use of that platform for such goal, not the other way round.

If technology progressed tomorrow to allow you to send emotions to people the way you’d send text or voice messages, would it enrich your SL experience or infringe on it? – Oh dear Lord, please no. For example, I’m very hot-tempered in RL, which translates to being blunt and borderline insensitive. I’m ‘nicer’ in SL because of delayed responses on my part: I can just close the window or mute if someone is pissing me off, and carry on with my decorating. I’m not very ‘delayed’ in RL. Being able to send my emotions as soon as I felt it would be a bad thing.

Name three skills you attribute to having learned or honed in second life alone. – Patience. LOL! Meshing. And uh…why is it so hard for me to name three things today?

If your grand kids googled your Second Life Avatar’s name, would they be intrigued, disgusted, proud or something else? – They’ll think I’m the coolest grandma ever!😀

10 thoughts on “400 Days, 20 Questions

  1. *sniff* I was wondering what that fishy smell was! EWWWWwwwwwWWW! *cough* let me know if you need to come over and take a shower because you smell like a 400 day old one going to be very cool gramma!❤

Penny for your thoughts?

