My Office @ The Department of Imagination

My Office @ The Department of Imagination
Forest: Skye Enchanted Tree Tunnel – Studio Skye
Snowy Bird Feeder Stand – Alouette || Easel (tropical texture change) – 7 Emporium || string lights – floorplan || old wooden fence/reds dots} – vespertine || ✤Grandma’s Suitcase Desk – Little Llama (discounted 1 week for The Challenge: Globetrotter)|| ✤Glass cloche with with Mushroom coral – Soy || ✤Glass cloche with Mushrooms – Soy || ✤the book tree – [hate this] || My Box of Poetry Books (old gacha) – Scarlet Creative || Bird Cage Candle Holder – Alouette

Second Life is my Imagination Land. And I am constantly thankful for it. Let me tell you why.

And since I haven’t done Berry’s Meme for quite a while now, I’ll use this as an excuse to babble on. LOL

Berry’s ‘Second Life Made me Learn’ Meme

Meme instructions: Share things that you have learned because of your involvement in Second Life, either personally or professionally. Don’t forget to leave a link to your post in the comments so others can come by and read your answers as well!

I learned to computer: I’m not even kidding here. Before SL, I had no major use for my laptop beyond work, email, look at pretty interior pictures and to shop. Gawd, did I shop back then. My eBay account must miss me so much. SL forced me to understand cache, how to clean install anything (LOL), graphic cards, how to recover files etc.

I learned and am still learning to mesh: I wanted to create my own world, so I fire up Blender and learned how to use it. It’s incredibly liberating because I can’t draw and that has always frustratd me, but at least now I can bring my imagination to life with 3D modelling. I have my little store and hopefully I’ll improve and make more things. :D I’m still learning, miles and miles to go! A year ago, I didn’t know how to shape a cube. Yesterday, I rough-modeled a shoe:

I learned that SL is not really a toxic place, like most people make it out to be: It amazes me how secure and confident prominent creators are about their abilities. They are not stingy about knowledge, even with and amongst competitors. Creators ask meshing questions all the time in Plurk and other creators sharing secrets and learning together. It’s great to be in that supportive environment.

I learned the magic of Photoshop: Before meshing, I didn’t have any use for Photoshop. I took pictures inworld and go. Photoshop-ignorance was indeed bliss, SLife was so easy and straightforward back then! I was forced to learn PS when I had to texture my own items and now I’m not sure how I managed to SLive so long without it. Trying PS for the first time was even more difficult than meshing, I swear. It was gobbleedockwhatcamacallitwhaddisdohowdafugdoIdodat for the first few weeks. I really, absolutely, definitely have to credit my friend Horror with her patience in teaching me the ropes. She might be an Undead Cyborg, but she really has the patience of a Saint. I would have given up on me if I had to teach me.


There’s more that I could list. One in particular actually relates to my effectiveness in my RL work. But I talk too much about work as it is and I don’t want to be that ‘workaholic numbnut who bores us with work stories OUTSIDE of work’.😄 So I shall leave y’all with the above wall-of-text and wish you a lovely and imaginative week!❤

8 thoughts on “My Office @ The Department of Imagination

  1. Great post, I really feel that how one is doing in SL is paramount to how one feels about it. I arrived last June to SL. I was stuck at one point but proactively got someone to help me move forward and to learn better skills. I can’t say I do PS or Blender yet, but I am learning how things work with building and creating content and making progress. It’s slow but very rewarding.

    • You are right about rewarding!😀 SL is positively surprising that way. When approached with a sense of wonderment, there’s no limit to what we can experience, right?. When I first logged, I had no intention of making friends or doing anything else beside exploring and decorating. 2 years later, here I am.

      And welcome to SL, you won’t be a newbie for long and may the wonders of virtual world always be with you (and me)!❤

  2. Wonderful post! I agree with all of your comments. *cough* well, except the mesh-y thingy. The only thing I ever get out of my blender is a margarita! I’m not complaining, mind you.. but you know what I mean.❤

    • as a PS. you know for PS (photoshop) if you really want to pursue its many odds and ends, local colleges sometimes have “community” classes on the subject, or heck, just take it as a non degree seeking student. I think you will be glad you did, it’s really so much fun.😀

      • I would love to. It’s unfortunate that there are only 24 hours in a day and not enough time to do anything else in between. Adulthood sucks! I’m watching tutes upon tutes and I’ll be lucky if I’m not snoring after 5 seconds, haha. Let’s win the lotto, Cao. And move to the Caribbeans, blend margharitas and PS all day.😀

Penny for your thoughts?

