Basks in City Lights

Basks in City Lights
Structure: ✤Room 143 – The Den @ TMD June
Industrial lighting – floorplan || Toronto – World map Art – Bazar || ✤ Parma drafting table & draftsman stool (both texture change)- ARIA || ✤ Paris Street Sign – junk @ The Arcade June 2015 || ✤ Old Photo Light – Soy || ✤ floor clock – junk @ The Arcade June 2015 || old wooden fence/reds – vespertine || photo clipped sketch 3 & flower print – keke || Raquel wire board with art – ARIA || Workspace – Inspiration Board (old gacha) – tres blah || Raquel Home Office SET (deco books, table lamp, pencil holder, desk, multi-function chair with a cushion) – ARIA || ✤Devon deco slippers – ARIA & The Loft || ✤Torino potted double stemed Orchid A – ARIA || iFall – Apple Fall ||Sketchbook – PILOT & JIM || ✤Fling Gardening Set (Gardening Quote & Pots with Watering Can, box of bulbs) – 22769 ~ [bauwerk] || vintage wire shelf (Black steel) – Soy || ✤ Raquel potted Monstera Deliciosa – ARIA || amy’s memorial garden (free, in memory of Scarlet Chandrayaan) – dust bunny || ✤Thea potted Cactus – ARIA || Single building (from City Lights Skybox Surround – Skyscrapers at Night) – ChiC Buildings

When I was a wee widdle pup, I dreamt of a glamorous city life.

Hey, who doesn’t, eh?

My family moved several times when I was a kiddo. My Dad specialized in turning ramshackle, rural, backwards schools around to meet national standards…And since he was so good at it, we never stayed long. He came, he organized, he left. And us with him.

Which means the formative years of my life were spent in various jungle towns of Borneo.

Literally.

And I’m not, like, using the word ‘literally’ in, like, a figurative manner, like, na mean?

It was literally, literally jungle towns.

Italics and bold in one sentence, and now I shall add all caps because it is THAT literal.

Anyhoo, now that the derailed train has came to a complete stop…

Some time last week, in a moment of nostalgic melancholy, I looked up all the rural towns we used to live in. Things have changed and not for the better. The changes are mostly due to the logging industry. Back then, the only means to transport logs were by dragging them along the river. They were no roads connecting rural towns with major cities. I guess this was not enough for logging tycoons and so they decided to doze the forest down to make roadways.

Progress isn’t always pretty, huh?

Anyway, I digress.

The dichotomy between my life and the ones I saw in magazines and TV was huge. Don’t get me wrong: life in a rural town was idyllic and a lot of fun as kids, but you know how the grass is always greener on the other side, right?

Fast forward to now, living in a city, knee deep in the rat race…and all I want to do is go back and live in a ‘jungle town’.

(Preferably with Wi-Fi though)

I just have to keep reminding myself that the grass is always greener on the other side.

These past few years, I’ve been working hard to cultivate my grass here, in the city.

And hopefully by this time next year or the next, I’ll be out of the rat race.😀

3 thoughts on “Basks in City Lights

Penny for your thoughts?

