Dog Days of Summer

Dog Days of Summer
Structure: ✤Sundara Villa – The [Den.]
Palm Tree (from Walk Like an Egyptian Set) – Kalopsia || Baby Palm – Tiki Tattoo || Ayahuasca Arrangements – The Cube Republic || Hanging Pansies – Light Wood – Alouette || hanging oars – floorplan || Polka dot curtain – INK || ✤Thea sectional sofa – ARIA || ✤Thea coffee table – ARIA || Sunday Planters – Willow Home || flottante puppy. – {anc} || Vertical Herb Garden – Sari-Sari || Pansy Fence Planter – Alouette || Almut Hanging Terrarium – Succulent – DIGS || ✤HANGING COCONUTS BOWL with cactus (past gacha) – Soy || Birdy Home Petunia Planter – Jian || nebra beads field – {anc}
**Notes**: 1) The Thea upholstery comes with 3 texture options – White, grey and cream. I chose ‘white’ so I can tint the colours as shown above. 2) The glowing round thingies are not PSed – it’s anc’s nebra beads and you can control the glow manually. 3) The butterflies is a PS job, you can find the brush from Fantasy Brushes @ Deviantart here

I know, I know, it’s freezing your side of the world.

The good news is…

…it’s summer my side of the world!

(Ok, good news for me, that is)

There has been a lot of rain this summer and my garden is loving it. I’m not sure how much cooler I can get with that sentence. I’m sure you’re all envious of my grandma-style gardening swag.

You too can be as swag as I am. Just give it a few more years and less time and energy for an actual social ife.😄

Speaking of social life, yesterday I arranged a laidback hangout with some SL Plurkies. We went to The Bay and just hung out. Or in my case, crashed several million times thanks to my awesome internet connection. It was an attempt to meet Plurkies in the flesh and I thought it was fun. Not sure how others felt!😄 It was great to know that generations can merge together happily in SL, unlike in RL.

In fact, I’m sure no one realized the RL generational gap until some attendees needed to explain to the other half why ‘Vanilla Ice Home Renovation’ show is a hilarious idea.

It made me wonder: why can’t we replicate this in RL? It may be because in SL, we have one thing in common: being SLers. We speak the same lingo (rezzed, prim, particles, tp, lag, crash, mesh etc) and we take avatar appearances at face value and we put them automatically at the same wavelength as ourselves.

For example, I always feel on the onset that all avatars I speak to are between 20-30 years old, Caucasian and with a college degree. As time passes, you learn a bit more about the other person that strips down your pre/misconceptions. This however doesn’t usually deter you unless they are downright bad people, and then we are gifted with an interesting and dynamic friendship.

In every person I met, I have learned things that is valuable to my own self.

In RL, we expect our interactions to be structurally linear. For each question is an answer. For each hypothesis is a finding. A leads to B, never to 2, unless A and 1 occurs together. And after you spend a lifetime formulating your conversation method to this linear structure, you go into the workplace where ‘brainstorming sessions’ practically tells you to forget everything you have ever learned about communicating.

Because apparently non-linear brainstorming session is the way of the future. The way ideas are born. The progressive way. We don’t want linear, we want dynamic! Moving! Ever present! Pumpkin spice latte lumbersexual fluid equality empowerment artistic freedom political agenda! The future! 

Human, y u so confuzing?

In contrast, interactions in SL is never just. No one actually says hi properly. People starts conversation mid-sentence, change subjects mid-discussion, leave the IM box mid-topic. Sometimes, a gyazo and a LOL counts as a good day of conversing. Sometimes, you end up discussing some weird topics well after midnight.

In 5 minutes we could be discussing 10 different topics that had no intro and will offer no conclusion.

The status quo we place on ourselves and others in RL can be frustrating. I wish it’s not weird to walk up to a 70 year old woman and chat as I would to someone my age, and start discussing the finer points of a fae wings. This conversation is not at all weird in SL, but would be puzzling in RL.

And yet this 70 year old woman must have, at some point in her life, wondered about wings, no?

Even if for a brief moment.

5 thoughts on “Dog Days of Summer

  1. Like your style along with your words ~ very young at heart or as my other oldie but goodies remind me we are only old in body but never mind….thanks for sharing ~ btw maybe it is my eyes didn’t see where you got those fabulous dogs from…..

    • OH MY GOODNESS, Starr….I am so so so sorry for this late reply!

      The dogs are from {and}. They’re called “flottante puppy” inworld, I believe😀

      I’ve been inactive (as you know) and in between some spats of activity, WordPress changed format from us logging into Dashboard to us logging into Quick Post format. I never realized I have a backlog of unmoderated comments until I have to tweak the actual blog today, YIKES!

Penny for your thoughts?

